The 2019 Siggy Awards - Finalists announced

The 2019 Siggy Awards - Finalists announced

The Student Athlete Advisory Committee of Heidelberg University, the Media Communication Center and the Office of Athletic Marketing & Information proudly presented the fifth-annual Siggy Awards -- Apr. 7, 2019, 7pm, Seiberling Gymnasium.  The event, hosted by softball player Erica Leber, is the premier event of Heidelberg's Division III Week celebration. 

The 2019 Siggy Awards drew nominations from Spring 2018, Fall 2018 and Winter 2018-19.  

Archived video  |  Photo Album

This year's finalists (winners in underlined italics):

Athlete of the Year - Male *
  Austin Baker (FB - All-American, NCAA record 95-yard punt)
  Dylan Roth (WRS - OAC Wrestler of the Year, Regional Champion, All-American)
  Dan Stoll (TF - School record for 200m & 400m, All-Ohio, Nat'l Qual. in 400m)
Athlete of the Year - Female *
  Taylor Arbogast (VB - OAC Libero of the Year, All-Region HM)
  Maddy Crawford (WBB - All-OAC HM, 16 double-doubles, led OAC in rebounds.)
  Rachel House (XC/TF - Nat't Qual. in 10k and XC, OAC Champ in 5k, School records)
Top Individual Performance - Male *
  Austin Baker (FB: NCAA Record 95-yard punt vs. JCU)
  Myron Prewitt (MBB: 44 points, 10 rebs vs. MTU)
  Dan Stoll (TF: Set two school records and won 200m dash at Indoor All-Ohio)
Top Individual Performance - Female *
  Erica Campbell (SOC: Three goals vs. Transylvania)
  Alyssa Riley (WBB: Set school record and tied OAC record with nine 3s vs. MUSK)
  Allison Schwarzbek (TF: Three All-OAC finishes at OAC Championship)
Breakthrough Athlete of the Year - Male *
  Maceo Matthews (FB: 9 TD recs)
  Alex Sir Louis (BASE: Set school record with 1.10 ERA, 6-0 record)
  Dylan Woods (MBB: All-OAC Hon. Ment., 13.2 ppg)
Breakthrough Athlete of the Year - Female *
  Brooke Beamer (WBB: Averaged 13 ppg, up from 6ppg last year)
  Jen Kovarik (LAX: Scored 20 more goals than previous season)
  Allison Schwarzbek (TF: Three All-Ohio finishes, five All-OAC performances)
Top Newcomer - Male *
  Trevor Adkins (BASE: First Team All-OAC, 5-0 record, 2.73 ERA after transferring in)
  Zach Blackiston (FB: First Team All-OAC, All-Region, 10.5 sacks)
  Alex Bruder (LAX: 7 wins, led OAC in saves & save pct.)
Top Newcomer - Female *
  Arinn Hayes (TF: All-Ohio and All-OAC performer)
  Sarah Oney (VB: 157 digs in 29 matches)
  Brittney Roth (XC: Second Team All-OAC, 6th best 6K time in school history)
Comeback Athlete of the Year - Male *
  Sam Ankrom (BASE: Returned from injury; went 3-2, including a gem vs. Moravian)
  Dylan Roth (WRS: Returned from torn ACL .. OAC Wrestler of the Year, All-American)
  Branden Short (FB: Returned after missing all of 2018)
Comeback Athlete of the Year - Female *
  Rachel House (XC: Suffered significant illness early in season)
  Kaitlin Keys (SB: Returned from hip surgery; First Team All-OAC, hit .340)
  Madison Zimmerman (SOC: Returned after missing much of first year with injury)
Senior Leadership Award - Male *
  Jordan Green (FB)
  Tyler Hammack (WRS)
  Jake Kress (MSOC)
Senior Leadership Award - Female *
  Taylor Arbogast (VB)
  Amanda Kilway (WSOC)
  Aianna Wilson (WBB)
The "Oh, Siggy!" Moment of the Year *
  WLAX: Team hangs on for 7-5 win over Concordia, first win in program history
  WBB: Defeats ONU in overtime, first win over ONU since 2009
  MBB: Upset of No. 20 Capital
SAAC Athletic Trainer of the Year *
  Lauren Belliveau
  Mitch Geddis
  Kaleigh Heath
SAAC Senior Student Athletic Trainer of the Year *
  Jack Haley (Works with WBB, SB)
  Naomi Smith (Works with FB & WRS)
  Morgan Strenk (Works with Mohawk HS & BASE)
SAAC Special Recognition Award - Most Supportive Campus Community Member *
  Jeff Garvin (Sports Information Director)
  Branden Jakubcin (SAAC Advisor)
  Morgan Kocher (Exercise science professor)
  Robyn White (Media Communication Center)
Coach of the Year *
  Tony Patrizi (WRS)
  Kelli Williams (SB)
  Joe Yoder (TF)
Graduate Assistant Coach of the Year *
  Tim Cronin (BASE)
  Tim Kaiser (MBB)
  Fabia McDonald (TF)
Most Supportive Team *
Team of the Year *


For more information, please contact Branden Jakubcin.