2015 Hall of Fame Class announced

2015 Hall of Fame Class announced

TIFFIN – Three individuals and one team will comprise the 30th induction class of the Heidelberg University Athletic Hall of Fame. Football player Stephen Devine '72, basketball player and coach Karen McConnell '85, wrestler Matt Randolph '94 and the 2003 baseball team will be enshrined in October.

Devine, co-captain of the 1971 football team, has devoted his career to the sport in a variety of roles. Since 2001, Devine has been a member of the scouting department for the NFL's New York Giants. During his time in New York, the team has won two Super Bowl titles. Starting at the University of Toledo in 1976, Devine has had coaching stints at seven different Division I institutions. Notably, he worked under Earle Bruce at The Ohio State University from 1984-1987.

With 907 career points, McConnell is 15th on the all-time scoring list for Heidelberg women's basketball. Her greatest accomplishment for the program, however, came from her 20-season stint as head coach. From 1988-2008, McConnell compiled a record of 280-246. In the 1989-90 season, she guided the program to its only OAC regular season and tournament championships. The squad traversed through the NCAA tournament, advancing to the Final Four and finishing third in the nation. McConnell won OAC Coach of the Year accolades in 1990 and 2003. During her career, she coached 10 players who eclipsed the 1,000-point plateau, including all-time leading scorer Rachel Poland.

Randolph, who passed away in 2013, was Heidelberg wrestling's first two-time All-American. Wrestling at heavyweight, "Frosty" placed eighth at nationals in both 1991 and 1993. Over the course of his career, Randolph picked up 67 wins and an OAC title. His .828 winning percentage in 1992-93 still ranks among the best in school history.

The 2003 baseball team was the first to claim an OAC trophy during the Matt Palm era. The team went 32-12 overall and 15-3 in conference play. The Student Princes won the OAC regular season crown and hosted the conference tournament – the first time in 14 seasons that the event was not held at Marietta. After hitting .425 with 10 home runs, 19 doubles and 46 RBI, Jon Hatfield was named an ABCA All-American and OAC Player of the Year. In total, eight players (Hatfield, Brock Gankosky, Ryan Gelhaus, Bill Sheets, John Cropper, Jimmy Williams, Jason Marsik and Ben Thorpe) received All-OAC recognition.

The group will be formally enshrined at a banquet on the evening of Friday, October 2, in the Wickham Great Hall. The following day, the inductees will be honored at halftime of the Homecoming football game against Otterbein.