Magee, Crow headline FB All-OAC selections

Magee, Crow headline FB All-OAC selections

AUSTINTOWN, Ohio -- A total of 12 Heidelberg University football players received All-Ohio Athletic Conference accolades, as announced on Monday. Headlining the selections were juniors Demetrius Magee and Austin Crow. Magee earned the Ed Sherman Award given to the top receiver, while Crow received the Paul Hoernemann Award given to the top defensive lineman.

Jake Hankish and Verondtae Wilkinson joined Magee and Crow as first team selections.

Magee was a key part of the HU receiving corps. He led the Student Princes with 53 receptions for 633 yards. The Rochester Hills, Mich. native led the conference in receiving touchdowns with 11. Magee is the fourth Student Prince to receive the Ed Sherman Award, joining Bob Aleksandrovic (1990), Mike Preston (2010) and Donteea Dye (2014).

Crow received first team accolades for the second year in a row. At the end of the regular season, Crow led all of Division III in TFLs. He led the conference with 10.5 sacks. Crow finished his junior campaign with 28.5 TFLs for 115 yards. Crow becomes just the second Student Prince to win the Paul Hoernemann Award, named in honor of the legendary Heidelberg coach. Ben Poirier won the award in 2013.

Wilkinson, another force on the defensive line, picks up his first postseason accolade. The sophomore had 15.5 TFLs for 75 yards this season.

Hankish anchored the offensive line for the Student Princes. The senior helped pave the way for an explosive Heidelberg offense. Hankish received second team honors in 2015.

Heidelberg had six players selected to the second team -- Cameron Vocke, Tyler Stoyle, Bryan Lacey, Malik Dudley, Jarett Wasson, and Justin Hutchins.

Vocke, who shifted to the tight end position midseason, excelled since the move. As a tight end, the senior gained over 500 yards and six touchdowns.

In his first full season as a starter, junior quarterback Stoyle threw for over 2,300 yards and 27 touchdowns. Stoyle threw for five touchdowns twice this season and was named OAC Player of the Week following a win over Ohio Northern.

Lacey capped off a brilliant career with three 100-yard rushing games this season. He finished the season with 10 touchdowns, including the game-winner in the final minute over Muskingum.

For the second straight season, junior safety Wasson earned second team accolades. Wasson had one interception in the win over Marietta and a blocked punt in the win over Capital.

Dudley, a sophomore, picks up his first All-OAC accolade. Dudley had a blocked kick and a fumble recovery this season. He also had three sacks for 22 yards.

After a breakout season on special teams, Hutchins was named to the second team. Hutchins returned a punt return for a touchdown in the final game of the year and had a 95-yard kickoff TD return at Otterbein. Hutchins was named the OAC special teams Player of the Week twice.

Nick Walsh and Tony Morris were named to the honorable mention

Walsh, a defensive lineman, finished the season with 26 tackles. The junior had four TFLs for 20 yards -- including three sacks

Morris played another key role in the HU receiving corps. The junior had 40 grabs for over 500 yards. Morris had a three touchdown game in a Week 7 win over Marietta.

In head coach Scott Donaldson's first season, the Heidelberg football team posted a 6-4 record. They finished third in the OAC with a 6-3 conference record.