Track opens outdoor slate in Atlanta

Track opens outdoor slate in Atlanta

ATLANTA, Georgia -- While Heidelberg faced snowy conditions all weekend, the Heidelberg University men's and women's track and field teams opened outdoor action in sunny Georgia. The teams competed at the Emory University Invitational, where over 30 schools participated.

Highlighted by Tristen Durr winning the hammer throw, the men's side captured an eighth place finish out of 35 teams. The women's team finished 32nd.

Below is a listing of the top-fifteen finishers for the Berg.

Men's Hammer Throw -- Tristen Durr won the event with a throw of 53.55 meters. Ben Gutzky finished in fifth with a throw of 49.00 meters while Alex Fee's throw of 41.53 meters gave him a 10th place finish.

Men's Discus Throw -- The Berg had two top-fifteen finishers in the event. Alex Fee took home sixth with a throw of 40.79 meters. Tristen Durr's throw of 36.49 meters earned him 15th.

Men's 10000 Meter Run -- With a time of 31:59.68, Austin Neura took home second place.

Men's High Jump -- Sophomore Wes Fritz's jump of 1.99 meters earned him a fourth place finish.

Men's 3000 Meter Steeplechase -- Senior Isaac Kuntz finished fourth with a time of 9:41.68.

Men's 1500 Meter Run -- Eric Peterson finished in fourth with a time of 4:10.55.

Men's 4x400 Meter Relay -- The team of Kenny Beucler, Gaerid Littler, Dan Stoll, and Tim Faiken finished with a time of 3:25.96, good for 10th place.

Men's Triple Jump -- Kevin Thompson finished 14th with a jump of 12.61 meters.

Women's High Jump -- Olivia Hipp's jump of 1.55 meters was good for a seventh place finish.

Women's 5000 Meter Run -- Amanda Elkins finished in 11th with a time of 19:11.52.

Women's 10000 Meter Run -- With a time of 41:40.21, Courtney Hughes-Ksenich took home ninth place.

Women's 400 Meter Hurdles -- Allison Schwarzbek finished in 13th place with a time of 1:08.65.

Women's 3000 Meter Steeplechase -- With a time of 12:40.09, Miranda Shaffer finished in 13th place.

The teams return to action on Apr.1 at the Otterbein April Fool's Invitational.