Haasz shines at OAC Split Meet

Haasz shines at OAC Split Meet

ALLIANCE - Heidelberg University senior Madison Haasz had an outstanding performance on Friday in the shot put to lead the Student Princes at the OAC North Split Meet, hosted by the University of Mount Union. Haasz, who entered the day ranked third in the nation, recorded a throw of 14.53 meters, which currently stands as the best throw in NCAA Division III this season in the women's shot put.

WOMEN'S WEIGHT THROW: Haasz placed second in this event with a throw of 15.93 meters to cap off her solid performance.

WOMEN'S SHOT PUT: Haasz' throw of 14.53 meters earned her the clear victory in the shot put. That throw broke her own school record and makes her just the second female this season in Division III to eclipse the 14 meter mark.

WOMEN'S HIGH JUMP: Baylee Garrett cleared 1.54 meters, placing third overall.

WOMEN'S 1000 METER RUN: Alexandra Dutton came in third place with a time of 3:14.17.

WOMEN'S 5000 METER RUN: Dani Blum and Rachel House swept the top two spots in the race. Blum won the event in a time of 18:48.27 while House came in second with a time of 19:21.95.

MEN'S LONG JUMP: On his third attempt, Jerrod Lyon jumped a distance of 6.33 meters, which placed him in second in the event.

MEN'S 60 METER HURDLES: Jon Suter's time of 9.30 seconds earned him a 4th-place finish.

MEN'S 400 METER DASH: Lyon (53.28 seconds) and Aaron Schulz (53.89 seconds) place third and fourth, respectively.

MEN'S 800 METER RUN: Tim Faiken placed 3rd in a time of 2:02.39 while Jacob Berryman was right behind him in fourth place with a time of 2:02.74.

MEN'S TRIPLE JUMP: Kevin Thompson won the event with his best attempt of 12.05 meters.

MEN'S 5000 METER RUN: Dylan Dombi dominated the event, winning by over six seconds in a time of 15:33.46.

MEN'S 1600 METER RELAY: The team of Schulz, Avery GatchellDevaun Churchya, and Berryman placed second in a time of 3:31.30


The Student Princes will be back in action next Saturday, January 30th, when they travel to the University of Findlay for the Findlay Classic.